This subtropical archipelago comprises seven main islands - Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro. Their beaches and important natural attractions are ever popular with visitors, especially when combined with long warm summers and mild winters, which make them a perfect all year round holiday retreat.

There are four national parks on the islands - Caldera de Taburiente National Park, La Palma and Timanfaya National Park, Lanzarote, both of which are designated World Biosphere Reserves; Garajonay National Park, La Gomera and Teide National Park, Tenerife, both of which have been declared World Heritage Sites. Why not create a twin centre holiday between two islands?